is eligible for Homestead Exemption ?
What do I need to do ?
Where can I file ?
What information do I need to bring with me ?
When do I apply ?
Do I have to be a citizen to
What is the Special Assessment
Level and who is eligible ?
If you own property which you use as your
permanent residence, you may file for homestead exemption. If
granted, this exemption could reduce the taxable value of your
homestead by up to $75,000. As a result, you would enjoy a
substantial savings on the taxes levied against your property by the
various taxing authorities.
Regular filing begins on January 1 and ends on March 1 each year. So
that you might avoid long lines at the regular filing time for
homestead exemption, our office now accepts pre-filed applications
beginning March 2 through December 31.Once obtained, so long as
there are no changes to your deed, your homestead exemption will be
Lawrence L. Patin, CLA
is eligible for Homestead Exemption ?
You may be eligible for homestead
- You own and reside at the property in
question on the assessment date of January 1st of the taxable
- You sign for the exemption in the
manner prescribed by law.
- The property in question is not an
"undivided property" or a property which you only have
a "usufruct" or "right of habitation".
- The property in question is not owned
by a corporation, partnership, etc.
do I need to do ?
persons seeking homestead exemption must complete an original
application. The application must be signed and filed in person.
can I file ?
can file at the Assessor's
Office between 8:30am and 4:30pm Monday through Friday.
information do I need to bring with me ?
If you do not possess these items, please
call us for further information.
- A recorded deed or tax bill in your
- Social Security number for each owner
who resides on the property and for each spouse - whether or not
the spouse resides on the property (actual Social Security card
or other document showing the number is preferred).
- The following information to establish
proof of residency for all owners who reside on the property
must be presented in-person at our office:
- Louisiana driver's license, if you drive or if a non-driver, a
declaration of domicile recorded prior to January 1.
- Louisiana auto tag registration, if you drive, for all
privately owned vehicles.
- Louisiana voter registration card, if you are registered to
do I apply ?
normal filing time for homestead exemption begins on January 1 and
lasts through March 1. All exemption
applications for that year must be filed by March 1. You may
pre-file for the following year
from March 2 through December 31.
Failure to apply on or before March 1, according to law, is a waiver
of the exemption privilege for that year.
I have to be a citizen to qualify ?
is not required to file for homestead exemption. An applicant who is
not a U.S. citizen must present a resident alien card (green card)
when they apply.
is the Special Assessment Level and who is eligible ?
You may be eligible for the Special
Assessment Level for taxpayers 65 years of age and older if:
- You are already receiving the
- You are 65 years old or older on or
before January 1 of the application year.
- You have an adjusted gross income of
$54,144 or less as reported on your federal tax return. If
husband and wife file seperately, the combined income for both
must be $54,144 or less.
- You file a signed application with the
Assessor in the Parish where the property is located This
application is a one-time, permanent application. You do
not need to re-apply annually.
Please note, this freeze applies to your
property's assessed value only, not the millage rate which may
change. To apply for homestead exemption or the Special Assessment
Level for 65 and older, or for complete details about these
programs, come by the St. Martin Parish Assessor's
Office between January 1 and June 30.